Strawberry Feilds Forever.

Food and I, we have a very love/hate relationship.

Once upon a time, we had the perfect relationship. I loved food, food loved me. There were no problems. But eventually it started–our fights were small at first, nothing serious. There were ups and there were downs, but I never stopped believing that we would make it through these rough patches. Now, I’m not so sure. I think that food and I are going to need some serious counselling if we have any changes of making it.  Our relationship is in rocky water, and even though some days it seems like we have the perfect relationship, it’s all smoke in mirrors. There is a storm brewing, trust me

And so, in order to preserve what is left of this relationship, I’ve decided to become a freshaterian.

You might be wondering what the heck a “freshaterian” is. Well, the truth is, I made it up. But, basically the snazzy name is just my way of trying to make things more exciting, food wise. Spice things up. The truth is, the five days I was away in Dalhousie, I’ve never felt better and food and I were getting along better then ever. We haven’t been that happy in a long time. There were no sleepless nights, no fights with my stomach. No problems. And what was different in Dalhousie then at home–the way I was treating food. There were few nights when I wasn’t eating fresh, whole foods, especially lots of fresh fruits and vegetables. Clementines and I are now in full blown love. I had tons of energy, I felt happier. And so, in order to keep this vacation going, I need to keep my food habits going. No junk. Nothing packages. Just fresh, whole, real foods.

Don’t get me wrong. I mean, there are certain foods I love. But the fact of the matter, at least right now, these foods–ever so called healthy pre-packaged foods–just don’t love me. And if I’m going to commit fully to getting healthy then I’m just going to have to wish farwell to these foods. Maybe it won’t be forever. Maybe some day I’ll understand my body even better, understand how to be able to be healthy, and indulge once in a while. Right now, however, I’m going to have to trade in my favorite treats for healthy treats, Swedish Berries for Strawberries. Sounds easy in theory, but I know that when temptation strikes, I’m going to have to be strong, to say no, and try not to feel sorry for myself.

You know, I think food and I, we’re going to make it.

We might just live happily ever after… in our gluten-free, dairy-free low fat castle in the sky.

Leave a Reply

