We won’t say our goodbyes.. you know it’s better that way.

I love clothing. I love fashion. I love dressing up and pretending I’m someone else. So that’s the reason I have a very wide variety of clothing in my closet. To me… dressing up is everything. I just love being able to flip through my closet, and try and look new a different every day of the week. When I was a little girl, dressing up was one of my favorite things in the whole wide world, and it hasn’t changed. Because of that, I’m a bit of a shop-a-holic. Its a sickness, really.

The thing about clothes is… I’m not so good at saying goodbye. Everything I own has some kind of sentimental value. Hell, I still have a dress from when I was six hanging in my closet. And yes, actually it still fits.

But being that it’s the end of summer, and I have been working on cleaning, I’ve actually been going through my closet and *gasp* getting rid of things. Okay, not getting rid of things. Nothing is being thrown out. But I have decided to part way with certain items. Some I’m giving away to a girl at work, because she loves my clothes. And some I’m donating to new homes and people who I hope will love them as much as I loved them. It feels funny though, going through clothes, trying to decide what to give away and what to keep. But in order to find new favorites, you have to let go of the memories… even shirts that hold special ones. Like the pink lace shirt I was wearing when me and Andrew shared our first kiss. Wait, on second thought, I’m keeping that one. Haha.

So maybe I’m not moving on well.

Maybe it seems silly to be so emotional about clothes. After all, it’s just clothing… right?

Not to me. To be clothing is more than just material and thread. No matter what anyone says, clothing is a part of a person, and it reflects who you are and who you want to be. And it’s time for me to really figure out who that person is. That’s right. No longer will I simply just throw on a simple t-shirt and jeans and try and blend in. That’s not who I am, that is never who I have been. I think that is part of what I’m excited about this coming school year. Because for the first time in a while I’m going to try and show who I really am, instead of being scared and afraid.

Wish me luck–this should certainly be interesting.

One response

  1. hi beautiful! I am going to send you out a letter tomorrow in the mail, since I missed the mailman today (dammit!). I saw that you already read my blog, which semi-spoils my newest letter to you, since I’m speaking about my new apartment & other things in it. I’m going to have to find a way to write in my blog, while keeping my letters to you a secret until you get them. ;]

    I hope you’re doing well.

    Oh & your relationship with clothes is exactly like mine. I hate saying goodbyes; to clothes & to other souls.

Leave a Reply

