we’ll have halloween on christmas…

So I have to admit, I’ve never been a holiday person. Birthdays, Christmas, Easter, even Valentine’s Day. They have never really been my scene. I know what you’re thinking–what kind of kid doesn’t like Christmas? It’s just never been all that appealing to me. Over-marketing, or something. Who knows.

But there is one exception to this rule, and that would be Halloween. By far, Halloween has always been my favorite holiday, the only holiday I could usually get through without tears. In fact, I have no shame is admitting that I went trick-or-treating (in full costume) until I was 20. In fact, I would have no problem continuing to trick-or-treat except for the fact that (1) Andrew, my trick-or-treat buddy says were not allowed to anymore and (2) even if he would, he doesn’t still look twelve like me and, finally (3) I can no longer eat candy, although that honestly wouldn’t stop me.

So what is a girl to do?

Well, even though we won’t be trick-or-treating this year, I still plan on fully enjoying my Halloween. I work until 7, unfortunately, but besides that we’ll be dressing up and having an awesome time first at my parents Halloween party, and then hopefully heading over to Halifax to Andrew’s and going downtown to celebrate like the legal-drinking adults we are with some dancing and who knows what else. I’ve never spent a Halloween partying (okay, except once, but that was a couple days before).

So I’ve been scracthing my head, trying to figure out what possibly Andrew and I could be. My sister and her boyfriend fiance are going as the Joker and Harley Quinn, and suggested that we go as Batman and Batgirl, which I seriously considered except trying to come up with a costume would have been hard and complicated. My Mom bought a preists costume last year, and suggested that Andrew go as a preist and I go as a Catholic school girl. Again, I just wasn’t feeling it. I had considered maybe being a Griecan goddess, but it still didn’t feel right to me. A bunch of other ideas passed through my head: Alice and the Mad Hatter. Cat and Devil. Pirates. But nothing was just right…

And then it hit me, the perfect costumes.

It’s perfect. And Andrew loves the idea and I honestly can’t wait. This is why I love Halloween, why it’s my favorite holday. For one night you can be anyone you want to be, and I’m going to be my ultimate fashion icon.

One response

Leave a Reply

