They did the mash… they did the monster mash… it was a graveyard smash.

I get more excited the closer and closer that Halloween creeps, especially as I watch my parents filling our front lawn with decorations, walking through stores and through isles of Costco sized bags of candy. Getting my own costume (and Andrew’s) ready. Trying to figure out what I am going to carve on my pumpkin, since I missed out last year. And there is something about the weather too. Halloween, to me at least, is almost like the last official event of the fall.

Sometimes it makes me sad the way kids now-a-days (wow, that makes me sound old) don’t seem to “get” Halloween. When I was a kid it was honestly one of the most exciting days of the year and as a family we always went all out. My parents used to throw big Halloween parties with elaborate costumes, and they always helped Krista and I come up with the best costumes for the holiday, something which has continued to this day. Some of my costumes include: A Spice Girl, A Cat, A pirate, A fairy, Snow White, Alice (from Wonderland) & Jasmine. Honestly, it makes me sad when I see kids come to the door and they’ve put no feeling into their costumes. And no, I don’t think you have to go out and buy an expensive costume to celebrate right.

The Halloween spirit just seems to be lacking, and it makes me sad. It’s almost like kids expect if they got out with a pillow case and a “costume” they should get candy, no “trick or treat” involved. That’s all part of the fun man! Seriously, can you imagine a world without Halloween and its many traditions. If you want candy then wait a day and go buy the discounted stuff at Wal-mart. If you’re coming to my house I was some enthusiasm, I want to hear kids scream out “Trick or Treat” and embrace the holiday.

And if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to put on the Halloween episode of Buffy and finish up my costume. Only 3 more days until the ghosts and goblins are on the loose.

Leave a Reply

