This Christmas feels like the very first Christmas to me…

It’s crazy to believe that yesterday was actually December 1st. I can’t believe how quickly this year has been passing. 24 days until Christmas. 29 days until New Years Eve, and the end of this year. And to be honest, I’m glad that 2008 is coming to an end. This year, at least the first half of the year, wasn’t exactly the best. There have definitely been some rough moments, and more than a couple moments which I wish I could change, and take back. The possibility of a brand new year, a start-over, is more exciting than I can say.

However, I’m not willing to just coast on auto pilot until January 1st. I’m trying to be positive about things, to keep an open mind, to not let Christmas stress me out and leave me in tears (23 days of Christmas shopping down and I’ve only had 2 melt-downs so far. We’ll see how many to go). My feelings for Christmas are usually mixed. Usually I can get about 2 days into December before being so-over-it. This year I’m actually going to try and enjoy the holiday, to not get too stressed (although finding Andrew’s present could prove otherwise, as it usually does).

So I’m trying to be an anti-Grinch, and embrace Christmas. We’ll see how it goes–it’s easy to download Christmas music and bake Christmas cookies for people and decorate but it’s another thing entirely to actually like the holiday. We’ll see how this reformed Scrooge will do, and if not–I can lock myself up until December 26th with my Soy-Nog and The Muppets Christmas Carol and The Nutcracker Ballet and try and survive. Well, that is if Christmas at the post office doesn’t kill me first.

Leave a Reply

