We watch the season pull up its own stakes… and catch the last weekend of the last week.

I was going to try and write something real, something beautiful and poetic, or cute, funny and Witty. Unfortunately it’s almost 11pm and I’m exhausted from work, feeling none of the above adjectives. Instead I’m going to listen to “Circus” by Britney Spears (the first CD I’ve bought in literally years) and cheat with a survey.  I thought there would be nothing better (since there is only 25.5 days left in the year) so do a review of my year. And I’m going to try and be as open and honest as I can be.

So here we go…

The Year in Review:

Was 2008 a good year for you?  2008 was certainly an interesting year for me. And a lot happened, that’s for sure. A good year though? Well, it had some good moments.

What was your favorite moment of the year?   I absolutely loved Andrew & my trip to Dalhousie and our summer adventures in Pictou. And our anniversary weekend was pretty damn amazing.

What was your least favorite moment of the year?    Waking up the morning after the toga party and realizing exactly how crazy everything had gotten, and realizing that I had hurt someone I cared about immensely, and realizing that I was turning into someone I didn’t want to be. And having to admit all of that out loud.

Where were you when 2008 began?    I was in my living room, but… I don’t remember anything.

Who were you with?    My parents, family friends, and Andrew of course.

Where will you be when 2008 ends?    In a hotel room with friends and family. And hopefully I will remember everything.

Who will you be with when 2008 ends?    My parents, family friends, my sister & her fiance, and Andrew of course. I’m also hoping that I will get to see my friends at some point in the evening.

Did you keep your new years resolution of 2008?  Somewhat.

Do you have a new years resolution for 2009?    I’d like to spend more time with my friends, and not be so scared to admit that people like me. I’d also like to try and get healthier. I’d really like this to be a good year. And I’d like to let myself try and have more fun, and not be so hard on myself.

Did you fall in love in 2008?    No, but I remembered all the reasons I fell in love with in the first place.

Are you still in love with them?    I’ll be in love with them for the rest of my life.

Do you regret it?    Never in a million years

Did you breakup with anyone in 2008?    There were some rough, scary moments. And there were moments I was scared that we wouldn’t make it. But in the end, we’re still together and we still love each other.

Did you make any new friends in 2008?    Yes, and I love each and every one of them.

Who are your favorite new friends?    I don’t play like that. All of them have brought some amazing moments.

What was your favorite month of 2008?    I honestly can’t say I have a favorite. The beginning of the summer was simply amazing, but it also had rough moments. The end of summer held some pretty amazing moments too, but also was rough and shaky, so honestly I can’t choose a favorite.

Did you travel outside of the country in 2008?    Alas, no. Someday I will though.

How many different states did you travel to in 2008?    Provinces, you mean? I went to New Brunswick. So, one.

Did you lose anybody close to you in 2008?    My Uncle, may he rest in peace.

Did you miss anybody in the past year?    I did. I missed Andrew with him living in Halifax. I missed my friends. I miss my cousin now that she’s not living with us.

What was your favorite movie that you saw in 2008?    The Dark Knight. Hands down.

What was your favorite song from 2008?    “Circus” by Britney Spears has kind of taken over the space in my head lately. Although “The District Sleeps Alone tonight” & “Be Still my Heart” by the Postal Service share a special place in my heart, without a doubt.

What was your favorite record from 2008?    I’m not sure.

How many concerts did you see in 2008? One, but it trumps any other concert I could have ever attended. Bob Dylan. ♥

Did you have a favorite concert in 2008?    Bob Dylan, obviously.

Did you drink a lot of alcohol in 2008?    This is the part where I hate being honest. Yes. In fact I had moments where I admitted to both myself and the boy I love that it was getting to the point where I was scared I was using it to numb other feelings and that, maybe, it was developing into a problem. I had some pretty bad moments, but I’ve learned to handle my emotions better. Although I still have moments where I don’t feel 100% in control, but the people around me keep me grounded.

Did you do a lot of drugs in 2008?     No. The answer is still no, but I can’t leave it at this. I made some mistakes and this was one of them. It is not something I could ever see myself repeating, but… yes. I did do something I never, ever, though I would.

How many people did you sleep with in 2008?    The one I love.

Did you do anything you are ashamed of this year?    Yes, and I would say “man, I wish I could take it bad” but if I took it back then I never would have learned anything and then it could easily just happen again. I screwed up, I made some mistakes and I ended up losing trust. But in the end, I know now how strong my relationship is, and that the person I don’t want to be is still there, and it’s not as easy as saying I would never do something.

What was the worst lie someone told you in 2008?   I have no idea.

Did you treat somebody badly in 2008?   I wouldn’t say I treated someone badly, but I hurt them.

Did somebody treat you badly in 2008?    Yes. But no one that really matters.

How much money did you spend in 2008?    More than I should have on things that I shouldn’t have.

What was your proudest moment of 2008?    Oh god, I don’t even know. This hasn’t been the proudest of years.

What was your most embarrassing moment of 2008?    Throwing up in my best friends purse from drinking way too much. Embarrassment is never glamorous.

If you could go back in time to any moment of 2008 and change something, what would it be?      God, see.. I’m not sure I would and yet I would at the same time. Part of me believes that no matter how awful some of these moments were, they happened for a reason. I could sit here and name off all the things I’d change but then where would I be? Maybe I would have realized I needed a breather before things got so intense.

What are your plans for 2009?      Graduating from University. Working on writing. Working on my friendships and finding a balance between the Shannon I can be, the Shanna I want to be, and the Shannon I am.


Leave a Reply

