It’s true where ever you find love, it feels like Christmas…

First off, I just want to say I had amazing Christmas. Not only was everyone in my family incredibly spoiled but it was nice having the whole family together. My grandparents came down for the festivities, and we made it our goal to see how many times we could make my Grandmother cry (happy tears, obviously). My grandfather’s Royal Doulton doll brought tears to her eyes first, but I think the photograph of my sister and I mimicing one we took when we were kids meant a lot to her. And the fact that it was my idea, and I brought the whole thing together (which was not easy considering how many times we lost power, Christmas Eve included) meant a lot to her as well.

imgp0210

Our Christmas tree Christmas Eve, before Jolly old Saint Nick even graced us we his presence.This was the first year we had the tree upstairs since the first year we moved into the house.

imgp0214

Our “fire” in the fireplace, decoreated for Christmas. That fire was replaced with The Dark Knight come Christmas morning.

imgp0231

Christmas morning. Santa was here!

imgp0233

My sister reading her brand new jewelry making magazine.I woke her up Christmas morning by jumping on her 8am. Hey, Mom said I could!

imgp0245

Our new hats and Monopoly, and Batman peaking out in the corner.

imgp0248

I don’t care what anyone says, my hat is fabulous. And will keep me warm on those chilly January days when I’m rushing to school and freezing. And no need to fret, it’s faux. ps. no idea what my sister is so excited about, although it might be her MAC gift certificate.

imgp0252

And finally, the beautiful purse my little sister gave me for Christmas. I was seriously conveting this purse for months, and I must say opening it Christmas morning was very exciting.

Christmas was pretty amazing, I must say. Which normally, I wouldnt. Andrew gave me two very cute pairs of pjs (much needed) and a gift certificate for a pedicure (even more needed) and I gave him a gorgeous green sweater which looks so good on him, and Mario Party 8, for his Wii, which both of us have been playing since he got. My Christmas dinner, however, was a no go, half because I was feeling pretty sick Christmas Day, and half because I fell asleep and ended up waking up with about ten minutes to go until Christmas dinner. However, the salad and butternut squash were fabulous.

However, this Christmas was not without sadness.

Friends of my parents had some tragedy–Christmas Eve we found out that my Uncle Kevin’s stepmother had a massive stroke that morning, and had been rushed to the hospital. She was paralyzed on one side of her body, and was no really coherent, but had made it through to Christmas morning was going over to the Stroke unit in another hospital for treatment and recovery. However, on Christmas night she had another massive stroke, and sadly passed away on boxing day. It was one of those things that came out of no where. I had only met her a handful of times, but she was a nice women, very vibrant and full of life. I think it’s moments like this which really show you how fleeting life is. You really never know if today is going to be your last day, and so you should do nothing less than live everyday like it is your last.

To be honest, I can’t wait for 2009. 2008 has been far too full of tragedy.

One response

  1. Your hat… is AWESOME! Oh my god. I love it! ;]

    & my thoughts are with your uncle’s stepmom. How awful! I sure hope she’s doing alright, considering…

    PS; what is the magazine that you gave your sister for jewelry making? I am interested!

Leave a Reply

