It’s a thousand pages, give or take a few… I’ll be writing more in a week or two.

Another Sunday afternoon, another impending snowstorm. It seems this winter has been nothing but snowstorm after snowstorm after snowstorm, which is funny because last year I think we had like one real snowstorm which was very quickly followed by two days of torrential downpour. The only other storm I can think of was a Friday night, and only remember it because I had go out to a club with friends and we left our coats in the car instead of carrying them with us, and it was fricking freezing. Seeing snow everyday takes some getting used to. I’m just glad our -20 degree weather is over with, for the time being.

I’d probably appreciate this storm more if (a) I had any chocolate Silk left to warm and have as hot chocolate and (b) I had someone to go sledding with (oh, and, maybe a sled). But since I have none of those things I am so over snow. Infact, summer? You can come back now and bring your sunny skies and blistering heat. I’d much rather be trying to figure out what to wear during a heatwave than during a blizzard, thank you very much.

The only thing that keeps me from having a wickedly bad mood is my non-credit creative writing workshop which starts tomorrow night.

One of the biggest things I’ve been struggling with lately is my writer’s block. I started a story around the end of the summer, maybe closer to October, and got about eleven chapters into it before I was crippled with writers block. I’ve tried to get back into it–the story is in my head, I know exactly how it ends, I’m just struggling with those in between  details–but no luck. That’s why I’m so excited about this writing seminar. It’s supposed to be for people who are trying to figure out their voice, and who have maybe never written before, but that doesn’t matter. I may already know what my voice is, I just need to rediscover how to get it down on paper. Again. And this writing seminar is sure to help.

One of my goals for this year is to write again, and this is the best way to get a head start on that goal. I haven’t finished a novel in years, which is frustrating when I have a thousand stories floating around that I feel the need to tell, and a thousand characters whose lives I know every detail to. And what is most important right now is that I figure out a way to tell my stories, to get everything down.

Because someday, I’m going to walk into a bookstore and my book is going to be on the shelf. And a book full of blank pages is not going to be a NYT best seller. Or make an impact on anyone.

Leave a Reply

