I’m going to trade this life for fortune and fame… I’d even cut my hair and change my name.

To answer your questions, yes I am writing this in the middle of the night and no, I don’t plan on sleeping anytime soon. Well, maybe soon. My sister has been experimenting with our poor, unused cappuccino machine this fine, and unfortunately snowy, evening. And I was her very willing guinea pig.

But before I even think about sleeping I thought I would share something cool. I recently joined a website (Authonomy) where you can post stories, and there is the possibility of having real live publishers reading them over, without having to worry about sending your manuscript out. Of course, this only happens for the best of the best (which is another issue entirely). One of the things I noticed upon registration was that you are required to post the (potential) cover to that novel-to-be. This, of course, naturally got my creative juice flowing. When I first finished Nameless, I couldn’t help but think about what the cover of the book would look like. I wanted it to be captivating, to sum of the emotion of the story with one glance. To be honest, from the second I finished it, I knew exactly what I wanted it to look like, the image burned into my head. And so tonight, while I should have been doing homework, I created my cover. The story isn’t quite ready to be posted on the site, but the cover–it couldn’t be more ready to be seen.

And someday, I can only hope, something similar (with my name proudly displayed) will be seen on the shelf of your friendly neighborhood bookstore. But, in the meantime, here is a brief glance into the future:

nameless1

ps. — the tattoo, unfortunately, is not real. Yet. But the second I have both the money and the bravery, that design will be a permanent part of me. I’m thinking of making it a graduation gift to myself but we will see.
3 responses

Leave a Reply

