Two drifters, off to see the world… there’s such a lot of world to see.

It’s a strange thing to be one of the only ones in your group of girlfriends that is in a serious relationship. Or a relationship in general.

The other evening I went out for Girls Night. And it was a lot of fun. Anytime I spend with my friends is almost always guaranteed to be a blast. But out of all the girls there, I was the only one with a boyfriend. Now don’t get me wrong, I love Andrew and I’m completely happy being with him. I wouldn’t trade it for the world. But sometimes it’s hard being around your friends and listening to the them talk abut how happy they are being single, how being single is the greatest feeling in the world,  how “we’re” too young to settle down, ect. I know they’re not directing it towards me, but even still, I can’t help but sit there and feel strange. Unsettled. Like I’ve done something wrong just because I found the boy I’m going to grow old with at seventeen. I know they would never mean to make me feel this way. But it happens.

I think I’m lucky in the fact that even though I have a very serious boyfriend that I can go out and have fun with my girlfriends. Personally, I don’t think I’m a drag. I’ve never been the kind of girl who has to call her boyfriend 15 times when she’s out with the girls. But I also would never want to go back to single. At seventeen, it sucked. From the looks of it, dating in your twenties is way worse. It’s all so dramatic. And maybe that is what life in your twenties is supposed to be like—hook up after hook up, never settling down. But call me “old-fashioned” or whatever, I like being settled. I like knowing there is someone who just wants to cuddle with me. Who will make me tofu stirfry when I’m sick. Someone that I can grow old with. Who loves me, and I love just as much in return.

To me, there is no greater feeling than that.

Leave a Reply

