Like strawberry wine and seventeen… the hot July moon saw everything.

Andrew and I went to see 17 again last night. (oh and he treated me to fabulous Vegan Nachoes at the Wooden Monkey–do I have the best boyfriend or what?) It was a good movie, even though I’m really not the biggest Zac Efron fan. It was really cute and really funny. It was the perfect movie to shake me out of the funk I’ve been going through the last little while. And it got me thinking about being seventeen. Seventeen was actually a really great year for me; the year that I met Andrew.  So with that in mind, I thought I’d do this little quiz.

How old were you 5 years ago? Seventeen.
Were you in school? It was my last year of High School.
If so, what grade? Grade 12.
Who were your friends? Ella, Mishy, Jenn and Shadia.
Do you look different now? My hair is shorter and I’m thinner. I pretty much look the same though I’m guessing (especially since I’m still being mistake for 15-17 on almost a daily basis.
Have your music tastes changed? Not even a little bit. I listen to lots of music.
What about your clothing? I think it’s similar. It’s changed somewhat, but I still own a lot of the clothes I wore when I was seventeen, so it hasn’t changed too much.
How many people have you dated? One. (And that makes me so ecstatically happy.)
Have you been in love? Yes, for the last five and a half years.
What was your best memory? The summer I was seventeen.
What was your worst memory? November of 2004.
Have you moved? My bed around… that is pretty much it.
Have you had your heart broken? I’ve had moments where it has felt less than whole.
Did you get a new car? My parents did.
How many people have you slept with? You mean like in the same bed? Haha. (And the answer to that question is one.
Do you have more confidence? I wish there was a different answer to this question but unfortunately the answer is no.
What’s something you wish you go change? I don’t think I would change anything because I honestly believe that everything happens for a reason, but there are events that sometimes I wish I had done differently.
Any regrets? I try not to live with regrets, but there are moments I wish I could do differently, like I said above.
Have you lost anyone? Yes.
Have you gained anyone? Yes.
Have you gotten any taller? Slightly taller, although not too much.
Have you gained or lost weight? Lost weight.
Is your hair the same color it was? Actually, no. I had just dyed it lighter.
What was your biggest accomplishment? Working my way through, and almost done university, I guess.
Have you improved at all? I think I handle my emotions a lot better than I used to, although I do still have a lot of trouble with them.
What was your biggest downfall? My emotions.
Is there anything specific that reminds you of the past 5 years? Certain songs on the radio. The pictures that capture the greatest nights ever had.
What do you miss the most? I don’t know if it’s the people I miss so much as the nights I had with them. More than anything I miss crazy times and late night adventures. Inside jokes. Spending entire days down at the lake soaking up the sun and pretending that the real world didn’t exist.

Leave a Reply

