When things get rough, he just hides behind his Buffy… now look, he’s getting huffy… ’cause he knows that I know.

0429

Blue knitted sweater. White wife beater. Distressed Bongo bluejeans. Blue fuzzy slippers (not pictured).

Geeky confession time? I bought this sweater the summer before the 10th grade, before I went to high school. Evidence of my inability to part with my favorite things right here. And I bought it based on this sweater worn by Sarah Michelle Gellar in season 2 of Buffy, episode 4 (Inca Mummy Girl). Yes, I specifically bought something because I wanted to look like Buffy. I remember wearing this sweater for confidence, and some times I would pretend I was Buffy. Okay, I was 15. Give a girl a break.

buffyseason2sweater2

buffyseason2sweater

It’s kind of funny how much this sweater has seen, if you think about it. High School. First real boyfriend. First real heartbreak. Summers. Memories (good and bad). Falling in love for the first time. It’s been a while since I’ve actually worn this sweater. Once upon a time I used to wear this when… arms needed to be covered. And I remember days when Andrew would see me wearing this sweater and that look would cross his face: fear. Thankfully those days are behind me and I hope I can create new memories for this sweater because it’s pretty fabulous, and comfy and warm. And perfect for another lazy day like today, when the beautiful and amazing summer weather has faded into seasonable weather. I think I’m going to go for a walk… I have a letter to mail. And maybe for old times take I’ll pretend I’m Buffy, even for a minute.

Okay, maybe you shouldn’t give me a break. 15 or 22, Buffy is still my hero.

Leave a Reply

