So long sweet summer… I stumbled upon you and gratefully basked in your rays.

part two of how I spent my summer vacation.


There are a number of reasons why I was excited for the chance to spend two weeks in Ontario at Andrew’s cottage (a real vacation. two weeks with Andrew. ect.) but one I didn’t learn until just before I was leaving and that was a pizza brand exclusive to Ontario and Quebec called Pizza Pizza. Now, while I love Nova Scotia and Halifax, sometimes our eating out gluten-free options can get repetitive (and especially expensive.) Sometimes you just want to be able to order a normal pizza. Which brings me to an exciting moment on our trip: the best damn gluten free pizza I’ve ever tasted.

glutenfreepizza

yes, that pizza tasted as good as it looks. The ingredients we chose were: broccoli, zucchini, black olives, green pepper and pineapple. (no cheese.. totally did not need it. I never realized how good cheese-less pizza was!)

glutenfreepizza2

they bring you your pizza sealed, then open it right in front of you. the bottom of the sticker warns you the pizza was made in a facility containing wheat products, but I had no problems.

glutenfreepizza3

Andrew didn’t love the crust as much as I did, but we both agreed it was really good.

There really aren’t that many mainstream gluten-free pizza options in Halifax. The only one I can actually think of is Pizzatown, and unfortunately our experience with that place means I’ll probably never order their pizza again, especially after having this pizza. It was delicious. It was filling. It was pretty much everything you want in a pizza, minus that whole having to make it yourself.

Pizza wasn’t my only adventure while away–I also tried kneeboarding. Tried being the operative word. I wish I had pictures of this disaster of a time, but unfortunately I was too busy falling off the knee board to take pictures. Don’t get the wrong idea. I had an absolute blast trying, but unfortunately it was a little embarrassing when I lacked the ability to both balance enough to make it ten feet without falling over, or the ability to lift my body onto the board (or the boat!). Tubing, on the other hand, worked out much better for me. I fell of a couple times, and managed to scrape the heck out of my elbows doing so, but it was a blast. Especially when it was me, Andrew and his little brother in the three person tube (which we eventually broke!) and I was flying all over the place. Also enjoyable was being tossed from the tube when I was tubing alone, skipping across the water on my back (I was wearing a life vest, naturally) until I came to a stop, and just kind of rested on the top of the water for a couple seconds before I started to sink. It’s unfortunate the Seadoo wasn’t fixed until the day before we left. I would have loved to be able to get out on it more, even though it scared the hell out of me.

Other things (without pictures) that happened:

  • Fell in love with the baby loons floating across the lake.
  • Saw the cutest chipmunks.
  • Learned how to play rummoli.
  • Almost stepped on a garter snake. He was adorable… after I finished screaming.
  • And swam, swam, swam.

And now, some more random pictures of my summer vacation. It’s an shame I’m not going back to school, as I could have written an awesome essay.

rainclouds
those are rain clouds. Unfortunately we saw those a lot.
rainbow
but without rain clouds… no rainbows!
beer
gluten-free beer found in town. much less expensive then at home.
supersmooth
we’re gangsters.
Ospreys
Osprey which flew (far) above us when we were on the boat.
favhat
My pre-knee boarding look. You can take the girl out of the city…
andrew's knee
Andrew’s knee after he attempted to show off and stand on the knee board. He slipped completely wiped out, and hit the hard plastic hook at the front.
cottage
the cottage.
sauna
the sauna.
floating dock
the floating dock I loved sinking and jumping off (it was so fun.)
seadoo
the seadoo which unfortunately was broken until the day before we left.

tube

And the tube we had a blast breaking.
flyinghome
And finally, the skies over Halifax. We had much more turbulance on the way home, even though it wasn’t raining. I actually was close to tears at one point. But everything was okay.
One response

Leave a Reply

