30th of April… seems like yesterday. We bought a house above the ocean… where our kids could laugh and play.

Lately, I’ve really been thinking about the whole moving out thing.

It has part to do with watching Andrew move his new apartment (for the 3rd year in a row), and how excited he’s been over the whole thing. He has his own deck, and the kitchen is huge! But it also has to do with the fact that the idea of being 23 and still living at home sounds kind of pathetic. Okay, not pathetic. I just feel like I should be getting my life together now that I’m out of University, and it’s about time I found a place to live which isn’t with my parents. But the problem comes in the fact that I can’t just move in with a group of strangers (or even friends, really) because of my dietary issues. It’s hard enough living with my family, none of which also have the same gluten and lactose issues, but living with someone who isn’t forced to love me and be careful? Yeah, I can see that being a problem.

If only it was possible to live on my own, but I would never be able to afford my own apartment. Unfortunately they’re a bit out of my price range. Especially if I want to be able to afford groceries.

So what is a girl to do? I’ve searched “looking for gluten-free roommate in Halifax” but it comes up empty. Actually, the second page on google actually links to this blog. I’m sure I’m not the only gluten-free girl looking to move out in the HRM but apparently they’ve had no problem finding someone to live with. Originally I was hoping that maybe I could move in with a friend of mine, who suffers from Crohns disease and definitely understands food issues, as soon as we could both afford it. But she’s seriously considering (if not already) moving to Calgary come January so there goes that potentially wonderful idea. And I’m back to square one.

So what is a girl to do? Obviously I can’t live at home forever. And while some might think the simple answer would be “why don’t you just move in with Andrew” I think it’s important to live on my own before living with him. That, and, my family has certain issues about people living together before marriage. And, in being raised that way, I also have certain… traditional views on living together before marriage. Yes, I’m slightly old fashioned in that regard. So it’s not just as easy as moving in with my boyfriend, no matter how wonderful waking up beside Andrew in the morning is. Although, I’ll be honest, I am seriously considering revising my stance on the whole issue.

But… even still again I ask: what is a girl to do?

Leave a Reply

