Amazing still it seems… I’ll be twenty-three. I won’t always love what I’ll never have… I won’t always live in my regrets.

smile

23 things I’ve learned on, this, my 23rd birthday

  1. You will not die if you give up bread or dairy. I hear all the time: “Oh, if I couldn’t eat bread I would just die.” I was eighteen years old when I had to go gluten-free and 20 when I discovered I was lactose intolerant. I’m still alive, and you know what, I don’t really miss the “regular” food I used to eat. I barely remember them. Sure, sometimes I crave certain things, and with dairy I have screwed up once or twice. But the truth is: if something is making you beyond sick, you won’t miss it in the least. And you’ll feel much better without it.
  2. It’s okay to make mistakes. The people who love you will still love you. This isn’t to say that you should go out, purposely make mistakes to test love. Or not care about making mistakes just because people will probably stay around. But one thing I’ve discovered through my many mistakes is that those people around you that love you won’t stop because you’re not perfect. (This was one thing that it took me a long time to learn.)
  3. No matter how much you love someone, sometimes you do you have to let them go. This is especially true for friendships. I’m not saying you shouldn’t fight for what you love, I’m just saying that if something keeps hurting you, no matter how much you try, maybe you should say goodbye.
  4. The best television shows almost always get canceled before their time. I’m looking at you “Popular” and “Veronica Mars.”
  5. Bad things happen to good people.
  6. But good things do too.
  7. Guys never understand why you need an assorted amount of shirts, shoes or purses. Regardless of how many times you try to explain why you bought another pair of shoes, or another purse, or why you want to buy another seemingly plain white t-shirt, they just don’t get it.
  8. Never throw clothes away just because they aren’t currently in style. I still wear clothes I bought in high school, and get great compliments. The same goes for the vintage clothes I’ve taken from my mother’s vast clothing collection.
  9. You don’t have to overspend on labels to look fabulous. I understand my fashion posts are boring, but I like doing them because I like showing you can still look fabulous even if you’re not always wearing big name labels. I shop mostly at Winners, Wal-mart and Frenchy’s (second hand store). Yes I have designer items but they are almost always second hand and purchased at a fraction of a cost. Maybe I’m not Carrie Bradshaw, but I feel stylish when I dress up and I hope I can inspire other people to try and put together the items in their closet together as well.
  10. Espresso is amazing. But really come on… it’s the foam on the latte//cappuccino that really makes the drink! It’s definitely the best part.
  11. Just because you’re considered “thin” or “skinny” in today’s society, doesn’t mean you don’t feel self conscious sometimes. Regardless of what it sometimes feel like we’re taught, being a size two doesn’t make your world perfect, and especially doesn’t mean you don’t still have your fat days.
  12. But, it is always important to be true to yourself. Do what makes yourself feel not just good, but great. You only get one body, and one life, so don’t spent too much time being scared to live because you’ll miss out on so many amazing things. (This is till a lesson I’m learning, 23 years later.)
  13. You are never too old to go to your prom, or get dressed up for Halloween. Sometimes it’s fun to get excited about the silly, little moments and celebrate them to the fullest. And when you’re surrounded by family, it just makes those moments that much better.
  14. Apples and almond butter make an amazing snack.
  15. Do what you love, and what makes you happy. I’ve wanted to be a writer since I was five years old. It may not be the most glamorous, money making job, but it’s what I love and that’s what is important.
  16. Sometimes it’s more enjoyable to stay home, and have a low-key night, than go out and drink your face off. Not saying I don’t enjoy going out for drinks too, just staying home can be wonderful.
  17. There is nothing better than waking up beside the one you love.
  18. Don’t worry about buying something, even when you don’t know when you’ll wear it. Trust me when I say that situations will arise where you need to find something to wear quick, and having dresses around will really come in handy.
  19. It is never smart to dump shots of tequila into white wine and down the entire thing. I would tell you why, but I don’t remember. And, truthfully, that should be reason enough to prove my entire point.
  20. But your best friends are those who love you regardless of holding back your hair when your head is in the toilet, or–even more so–love you even after you throw up in their purse.  Of course, you’ll never live it down. But they’ll still love you.
  21. It is better to show up ten minutes early then ten minutes late.
  22. The moment you stop searching for something is the moment you’ll find it. This is true for everything from shoes, to keys, to loves of your life.
  23. You’re going to screw up. You’re going to make mistakes. There is no escaping that fact. Everyone screws up. The only thing you can do is learn from those mistakes and move on–older and wiser and knowing what to do not to repeat your previous mistakes. And sometimes this is way harder than it even sounds.
One response

Leave a Reply

