The zombies were having fun… the party had just begun. The guests included Wolf Man, Dracula, and his son.

jackolantern

Me and Andrew’s jack-o-lantern: the bat signal.

It’s not secret that of all the holidays celebrated, Halloween is probably my absolute favorite. And if my pictures from last year tell you anything, it’s that–in my house–we do Halloween right. And in style. Now with work, I get to dress up in all our Halloween gear (which I get at a sickening discount). But as far as thinking about the exact day, I’ve had other things occupying my mind such as: my birthday, work, Andrew and my six year anniversary this Saturday. In fact, my first real Halloween celebrating was carving jack-o-lanterns with Andrew. We decided (okay, I begged) to carve the bat signal into his pumpkin. I actually drew the bat on the pumpkin myself, free hand and we managed to work together to bring it to life.

But the one thing I’ve been freaking out about is Halloween costumes. Last year, we had so much as a pair (Edie and Andy) that I’ve been wondering what kind of couple we could be this year. I spent the other night at work trying to come up with ideas, even writing up a list. This list included:

  • JFK and Marilyn Monroe.
  • Holly Golight, Fred Baby, and Cat.
  • Edward Cullen and Buffy the vampire slayer (inspired by this video)
  • Gilligan and Ginger (from Gilligan’s Island).
  • Batman and Catwomen.
  • Bill and Sookie (from Trueblood)
  • And, finally: Chuck and Blair from Gossip Girl.

Now while Chuck and Blair was my favorite idea, Andrew was completely against the idea. And we were back at square one. So today we passed ideas back and forth, trying to come up with an idea that would be pretty easy, but still a fun and creative costume. And so we’ve narrowed it down to two possible costume ideas. And those potential costumes are:

halloween

halloween2

Both are potentially awesome ideas (okay, if you don’t read into the stores behind them as neither were happy or healthy relationships… but I digress). Of course, I have no idea what I’m going to be working Halloween, or when I’ll make it to Halifax, but either way I can’t wait to get all dressed up, to have a couple drinks and spend time with friends, and have fun. Because in all honesty, that is what Halloween is about: having fun. Okay, and maybe bite sized chocolate bars. But more than anything, it’s about fun.

And I guess you’ll just have to stayed tuned to see what we choose.

Leave a Reply

