The only thing that matters is just following your heart and eventually you’ll finally get it right.

Wow, it’s 2010. Isn’t that insane? Also insane–I’ve lacked in updating since December 20th. I had a wonderful Christmas, and an even more wonderful New Years Eve, and now it’s a brand new year. Which, of course, means making resolutions for the year to come. I’ve never been big on making resolutions, mostly because if I don’t accomplish them, I just feel like I failed. But since I really want to work on accomplishing great things this year, I’ve made a list of things I want to cross off my list. They’re not really resolutions, I guess. More a list of things I want to finish before 2011 comes around.

  1. Get my full drivers license.
  2. Save a couple grand (at least) and look into moving out on my own.
  3. Look into (maybe) going back to school.
  4. Get a job outside the mall.
  5. Write at least one hour every day–without distraction (internet or television) even if it’s jibberish.
  6. Create a real writing space, including my Andy Warhol statue from the Andy Warhol inspiration box I got for Christmas.
  7. Be more comfortable being intimate.
  8. Improve flaws in eating. (Which includes cooking more, and bringing a lunch to work instead of relying on smoothies.)
  9. Clean//organize and stay clean and organized.
  10. Start exercising regularly not just for my body, but also for my mind.
  11. Get serious about my manuscript (which now simply sits in a folder on my computer untouched for the last couple months.) Look into publishers and submit.

And, of course. 12. Get at least one of my tattoos!

To be honest, I would love to accomplish all of these things this year. Maybe I will. But if I could accomplish at least half these things this year, then I would feel like I’ve made something of the year as a whole. Of course, who knows what 2010 holds, but since I started my year so wonderfully I have a good feeling about this year.

2 responses

    • I definitely want to do it sooner rather than later! A good start to the new year.

      You’d probably be a good teacher. When my Dad tried to teach me (1) I was very hungover and (2) I spent half the time outside the car, learning about the car, than driving.

Leave a Reply

