I really wanna call you, but I know that it’s not right. I probably shouldn’t tell you but I dreamed of you last night. I guess I’m not prepared to say… Goodbye, so long, farewell, I won’t be seeing you again.

This is my blog, the place where I can be most  honest, and so here is the truth: my life has taken a very unexpected turn, and I may not be around here for a while.

After six years together, Andrew has suddenly realized he no longer loves me, and broke up with me this morning, blindsiding me completely. It’s more complicated, and I’m not being entirely fair, but right now that’s where everything lies. For the first time since I was seventeen, I am single, but not alone. It’s funny the true friends you realize you have when the worst happens. No matter what, I don’t want to abandon this place. I just don’t want to turn it into an angry place and I know that’s what would happen. I’m trying to believe that this will mean something good even as I feel at my worst. (And completely lost.)

I will be back. I just need some time to figure out what my future now holds.

3 responses

  1. I’m so sorry. I can’t even begin to know how you must feel right now. We will always be here, whether you keep writing or take a break. The best thing about readers who heart you is that we heart you through anything and you can be whomever you need to be. Tough times bring different tones to our writing and subjects and you never have to worry about showing too much of any emotion. We are here for you no matter what.

    Whether or not you publish, I hope you write your way through this. I took a break from writing when I was going through my breakdown and now, on the other side, I wish I had kept writing so I never forget who I was at that time. It wasn’t a good me, but it was still a part I don’t want to forget.

    Be gentle on yourself. We love you.

  2. i’m so sorry to hear this.

    for what it’s worth, i wrote my way through an abusive relationship and break-up, and now i have a book being published.

    regardless, i wish you all the best.

    and the previous commenter is completely right. your readers will continue reading, no matter the content.

    xo

    -e

Leave a Reply

