Something has changed within me… something is not the same. I’m through with playing by the rules of someone else’s game. Too late for second-guessing… too late to go back to sleep. It’s time to trust my instincts… close my eyes and leap!

Urban Dictionary describes a best friend as:

“Someone you can totally be yourself around and not give a care in the world about your actions or feelings because they won’t judge you for the stupid things you may do or say.”

I have to agree with the definition, except adding one thing–“the ability to go months without talking, or seeing each other, and then easily slip back into each others lives as though no time has passed at all“.

I feel incredibly lucky every day because of my best friends. Without a doubt, the last couple months have showed me just how truly amazing the people in my life are.  It’s a wonderful feeling to know that you have people in your life who are more than willing to drive around for hours, listening to you complain about your ex-boyfriend (even though you’ve said the same things many times before), or offer to be at your side as you go to jail for beating a certain someone up. Or even just sit on a couch, drinking wine and chatting about nothing at all until 3am. I have my crazy moments, I always have, but I don’t have to worry that I’m going to wake up one morning and they’re going to be gone. I used to be so insecure when it came to my friendships–and there is more than one entry in my archives that proves it–but the truth is, I’m not anymore. The girl who was too scared to pick up her phone and call her friends is long gone. Maybe it took heartbreak to finally be secure in friendship, but finally I am.

And even better, I find myself opening up to making even more friendships (on my own). And that is exciting. Sure, everyone pretty much knows everyone in a small city like Halifax but even still I’m getting out on my own, I’m breaking my own rules, and I adore who I’m becoming. I really, really do.

Leave a Reply

