Oh Batman… you’re the sex.

swollen and fresh, but I adore it.

I waited almost seven years for my infinity symbol tattoo, and it was well worth the wait. And now I’ve added to it with another tattoo of special meaning. It didn’t take 7 years, but without a doubt it holds just as special a place in my heart.

A couple months ago, I tweeted that I wanted to get the Bat Symbol tattooed on my person. It’s no secret my love of all things Batman related. But the truth is, my tattoo goes deeper than my nerdiness. The more I got thinking about the tattoo, the more I’ve come to realize why I wanted to get it done so badly. The last 12 months, since the day I turned 23, have not been easy. This year has been filled with a roller coaster of emotions, and I’ve faced things I never in a million years thought I could survive: the ultimate betrayal by the person I trusted the most, and losing two people that meant more than the world to me. And it made me realize that yes, I may not wear a cape or have the ability to fly, but I’m  a superhero none-the-less. And this tattoo is what that represents to me. Okay, it’s also the embodiment of the fact that I’m a complete nerd–and I like wearing that fact so openly–but it’s deeper than that. It’s everything I hoped it would be, and I’m so glad I got it (even if it did hurt 10x more than my wrist).

Twenty-four… there is nothing you can throw at me that I can’t survive. After all, I’m Batman.

One response

Leave a Reply

