We’ll listen to b-sides and sing along… to anthems of the years gone by.

When I was sixteen, I broke up with my first real boyfriend.

And during my time of being devastated and heart broken, I spent a lot of time online finding songs to perfectly describe my own personal anguish (because we were so “in love” for the four months we were together. I was young. We all make mistakes.) Sitting on my computer in the basement, typing “songs about breaking up” into the search bar, the song “Broken Promise Ring” by the Ataris popped up. This was early in 2003, before “Boys of Summer” made its big radio premier, and so on a whim I clicked download. I’d never heard of the band before, the song title was more than fitting. And just like that, in an instant I was in love.

So of course, I immediately had to get my hands on every song by them I could. “San Dimas High School Football Rules“, “Between You and Me“, “Summer Wind was Always Our Song“, “Road Signs and Rock Songs“–the list goes on and on. Suddenly, their music was the unofficial soundtrack of my broken heart. There was just something in the lyrics that I clung to. It was later I would realize, when I saw the video for “Boys of Summer” later in the year, that the lead singer looked an awful lot like said ex-boyfriend which was kind of hilarious considering it was his voice that had soothed me at my darkest.

But now, almost eight years later, I’ve stayed true to my favorite band–through the happy times of  falling in love I sang along with “IOU One Galaxy” and “I Won’t Spend Another Night Alone“, and in my darker moments “Connections Are More Dangerous than Lies” and “A Beautiful Mistake” put words to the emotions I couldn’t explain. I ever named this blog after my all-time favorite song by them, a beautiful b-side called “Oh Kansas City“.  There was just something about the opening lyrics: “awkward smiles and drunk confessions, neon lights and soundtracks for these whiskey nights. Here we are.” that just explained how I was feeling when I first created the blog (and long before the first blog post). Once again their music managed to define something I couldn’t even explain.

And what is the point of this ramble? Well after eight years, 2 broken hearts and more than a few whiskey nights, I will finally see my favorite band, live, in person. I can’t even begin to explain how exciting I am, like I’m sixteen all over again. This day is one I’ve been dreaming about since the very first time I heard Kris Roe’s vocals on “Broken Promise Ring” and fell absolutely in love with his voice, and his lyrics.  And I am incredibly exciting it will be my sister beside me, singing along. Of course, we won’t be able to push as close to the stage as we might like with the baby on board, but it is kind of neat that I’ll be able to share my favorite band with my little niece (or nephew, though we all know in our hearts it’s a girl). It’s never too early to instill the importance of good music.

I honestly can’t think of anything that’s filled me with more excitement then knowing this is really happening!

 

 

Leave a Reply

