Give me a head with hair… long beautiful hair.

I have a confession to make—lately, I’ve been faking it.

My love affair with changing my hair started when I was a little girl. As long as I can remember, my mother has always had a collection of extensions and wigs. Everything a girl  could need to feel like someone new, if only for a couple hours. I remember in junior high, I used to play around with wearing them. They were a different color, and never really matched, but they were always fun to pretend with. Sure, occasionally people would make a comment like “I think you missed a stop when dying your hair” but it didn’t matter because they had noticed something was different.

I restarted my obsession with hair extensions last year when I first started growing out my short cut. But it’s definitely grew x10 when we got these amazing hair falls at work. I bought them initially for my Wonder Woman costume (since superheros just need long hair. True story.) But once I put them in, I realized how much better I like my hair at this new longer length. Maybe it’s just because it’s new and different but I feel so much sassier (not to mention prettier) with this new long hair. In fact, I have a feeling I’m just beginning a new love affair with hair extensions and hair pieces. I’ll never be able to afford $1000+ permanent extensions, but I definitely could get used to this new long haired girl looking back at me in the mirror.

I guess it’s true–I am such a girl.

 

Leave a Reply

