So don’t sing me your songs about the good times… those days are gone and you should just let them go.

Forgiveness:

–noun

1.act of forgiving; state of being forgiven.
2.disposition or willingness to forgive.

 

You know lately I’ve been thinking about the idea of forgiveness. Part of it stems from the fact that I had a particularly interesting dream involving a certain pair of people, and the other from just looking at my new nephew. The fact of the matter is last year I spent 11 months feeling angry and bitter because of what happened. That’s not to say I didn’t move on, but I still felt damaged by what happened. And I was mad. And sometimes, more often then I feel proud admitting, I let that anger show.

But now, with a new year, I almost feel ready to… let go of what happened. To forgive. That’s not to say I’m ready to be best friends forever with them, or even that I like what they did. I’ll never truly forget. That is just something that will stay with me. But what I mean is that I’m not going to let what they did to me control my emotions anymore, and I refuse to let what happened define my life. Yes, I got cheated on by two people that I trusted. But there are worse things that can happen to you in life. And, truthfully, out of everything that happened last year that was hardly the worst thing that happened.

The truth is, I’m willing to let go of what happened. I’m done being angry and hurt. There are so many good things to come, my new little nephew just being an example of that. It’s a new year, and it’s time for a clean slate. I’m finally washing myself of all the extra baggage. Sure, it’s easier said than done. But holding onto the past doesn’t accomplish anything, it just holds you hostage from all seeing all the good things the future can hold. And I’m so ready for good things.

One response

  1. it takes a whole lot of strength and maturity to move past that sort of anger… good for you, it’ll make a world of difference.

    a man once told me: “to hate takes as much effort as it does to love- let go, be indifferent, otherwise you will forever be bound to him”.

    that’s the best advice i’ve ever recieved in my entire life.

Leave a Reply

