Leave all your love and your longing behind… you can’t carry it with you if you want to survive.

So yes, I’m aware of the fact when it comes to posting I suck. The truth is I’ve wanted to post lately, I just have struggled when it came to finding the words. Life wouldn’t exactly be defined as exciting lately. More… repetitive and dull, and slightly depressive. But thankfully the hellish month of February has finally come to a close, which means MARCH! And SPRING! And new beginnings, and whatever else a month can hold. I’ve stopped trying to predict what the future maybe hold–because honestly, I suck at predicting the future and always have. However, I’ve never exactly found going with the flow all the easy either.

So where does that leave me? I believe the old saying mentions something about a rock and a hard place. But either way, I feel good about March, mostly because I’m dying for spring-like weather, St. Patrick’s Day, and a short 4 day vacation on the horizon. Yes, I find myself constantly wishing I could plan each day accordingly, something to hold onto that wouldn’t change. But I’m almost getting used to the uncertainty and the roller coaster ride. Who knew that not knowing was almost more fun.

 

And because I haven’t updated since my last post, here are the answers to the questions people left for me. I won’t lie, I was kind of hoping more people would leave questions, but I’m very thankful to everyone who did!

Favourite dessert of all time?

That’s a tough decision. It’s going to be a toss up between cupcakes (which are my specialty to make) and Kinnikinnick gluten free chocolate or maple dipped donuts. I love making cupcakes, but there are something about those donuts, warm out of the microwave–with icing dripping–that are just to die for. (The cinnamon buns are fairly decadent too.)

What achievement are you most proud of in your life?

Overcoming my self harm addiction, and not falling back into old patterns last year. Overcoming it was one thing–and beyond difficult–but not turning back to it during the most stressful year of my life is something I will always take pride in. I never knew I could be so strong, and I finally feel like I’ve overcome self harm for good.

What 5 pieces of clothing would you save if your house was burning down?

This is actually the hardest question because I honestly don’t know! I have so many items of clothes which hold such sentimental memories. 1. My Wonder Woman costume. 2. My favorite pink purse my best friend gave me for my 18th birthday. 3. My Christmas dress, from when I was six, that STILL fits me (and I still wear every year). 4. My grade 12 prom dress. AND 5. The white vintage lace dress I wore to my best friends prom in 2006.

Where do you hope to be in 5 years? (location, job, love life, kids, aspirations, etc)

Five years seems so far away, and yet so close. As I near thirty I definitely hope to have found someone to share my heart with, but if anything I hope to be healthy and happy. I’ll probably still living in Halifax, and be working on getting my words published. I’m sure I’ll be working some 9 to 5 job to pay the bills and afford fabulously tipsy Mondays. I’ll be a fantastic aunt, and best friend. But more than anything, I hope I will have fully embraced the confident girl I know I can be.

If there were one life lesson you’d want to teach your new (awesomely adorable) nephew, what would that be?

Be true to yourself, no matter what life throws on you. We spend far too many years of our lives consumed with what other people think about us. I would want to show him that hiding who you are–whoever that may happen to be–just wastes the time you have. Don’t be scared to love what, or who, you love–be it comic books, musicals, or the cute boy around the corner.

Leave a Reply

