Get your best dress ready… shine your dancing shoes.

I’ve always kind of had a thing for prom. Even when I was a little girl, I totally dug the idea of getting all dressed up–a princess for a night. Okay… that’s a lie. I still am totally intrigued with prom; I always look forward to the prom episodes of my favorite shows.

Now I started dreaming about my prom dress when I was about 11, infatuated with the prom special episodes of my favorite TV shows and movies: Sabrina the Teenage Witch, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Popular, 10 things I hate about you, She’s all that, and so on. I think of all of them, my favorite would have to be Buffy’s prom dress when she graduated from Sunnydale High. If I had a chance to go back, to redo prom, that would definitely be my inspiration. However, I do have a fair share of my own prom moments. Maybe it’s too early for nostalgia, but who doesn’t love a walk down memory lane.

When I was fourteen I remember saying that when I eventually went to prom, I was going to wear a long, slinky, gold halter dress, which I do believe I remember seeing on an episode of Days of Our Lives and falling absolutely in love with. Even though prom was a good three years away for me, I was absolutely certain that I would still want that dress (and, that by then, I would be thin enough to wear it). When my grade 12 prom finally did come along, I ended up falling in love with this flamingo inspired lace and pink dress. It wasn’t your typical prom dress, and I think that was what I loved most about it. It was different. I also love that when I wore it 2 years ago for my Mom’s “prom” birthday, the dress was just as fashionable as ever.

In 2006, when all my best friends were graduating, I went along with one of my best friends as her date. Obviously, as it wasn’t my own prom, I wasn’t going out to spend a couple hundred dollars on a dress. But I wanted to look pretty. What I ended up going with was a white lace vintage dress I had bought for $10 a couple months before. I ended up basing my look on a dress Mary-Kate Olsen wore to a premiere a couple years before. God, I loved that dress even if it was too big for me at the time (and is definitely too big for me now!) And someday I hope I can find an excuse to wear it again. Although looking back on it, I definitely wish I had worn my hair down and curled, as opposed to up. It just would have looked better with the dress.

Finally, we have 2007 and my sister’s/Andrew’s prom. Again, I found my dress in the same little vintage shop–tags still attached. You can beat a $200 dollar dress for $17. I remember seeing it and thinking it was very old Hollywood. Of course, it was also a little large when we bought it so we created a little sequined belt for the middle to cinch it in enough that I didn’t look like I was swimming in it. The funniest thing, though, was that my sister ended up finding her prom dress in the exact same color. We were twins. I definitely think of all the prom dresses, this was my favorite. I felt my prettiest. Okay, and I kind of love the skull necklace my sister made for me, that little bit of sass.

The thing I think I love about all my dresses, besides that fact that the were all totally different, is the fact that I don’t think I’ll ever look back at the pictures and wonder: what the hell was I thinking? Then again, who knows. Maybe 20 odd years from now I’ll be helping my own daughter (or niece) get ready for her prom and she’ll look at my pictures, cringe,  remarking: “Oh my god, those dresses are just so retro.”

Apparently I’m feeling fairly nostalgic lately. Blame it on my Blink 182 playlist, or reading through diary entries of the past… who knows.
Leave a Reply

