But you know the summer always brought it… that wild and reckless breeze. And in the backseat, we’re just trying to find some room for our knees. And in the backseat, we’re just trying to find some room to breathe.

Blame is on an already overwhelming amount of nostalgia, but lately I’ve really been thinking a lot about this blog–where it started, and why, and where I go from here.

If you flip through entries past, it’s easy to see that I was a very different girl when I first started writing here. I was in my final year of University, and working part time at a little card shop. I was in my first serious relationship, and it was really all I knew about dating. I was coming off a summer of complete shenanigans with the best friends, and convinced I had done something wrong. I was young, naive, and dealing with some serious stuff I never let show. I kept things as upbeat and silly as possible, never delving into anything too serious.

And then the break up happened, and my world changed.

But the thing is, when it comes to this blog, while I’ve remained honest to myself… I have also held back from revealing everything. The truth is, when it comes to certain stories, I’ve felt too exposed to tell everything. When it comes to writing, it’s much easier to tell the truth hidden within the lines of a fictional story. I know it’s true, those involved know it’s true, but to the outside world: it’s just a story of silly drunken times. So then, where does that leave me? Or this blog, for that matter?

Summer’s quickly approaching, and with it follows a certain amount of drinking, dancing, and all around shenanigans. If there is one thing summer if good for, it’s the certain amount of silliness that comes along with having friends like mine. Without fail, I can count on adventure and stories to tell.  That’s not the problem. It’s deciding whether or not I want to be fully open, to reveal everything, no regrets. For so long I’ve searched for something to write about, avoiding those stories because I wasn’t sure who might be reading. But now? But now it doesn’t really matter. So much is happening, silly little stories that make me laugh. You’d be surprised at the things I have done, things I never even imagined. Everything I always hoped life could be is finally coming together, after so long. Sure, it’s still a bumpy road, but I’m having a blast doing it. I have inspiration again, and a story to tell.

So maybe it was about time I told it.

One response

Leave a Reply

